Dancing with Miley….

If you don’t live under a cultural rock, you’ll probably have heard that Miss Miley Cyrus has been causing quite a stir recently. If you have no clue what’s been going on, I’ll catch you up: she’s no longer Hannah Montana, clothing has become optional and we can probably thank Miley for the addition of ‘twerking’ to the dictionary.

Aside from her ‘I’m not a girl not yet a woman’ act which has been seen a thousand times before with ex-Disney starlets, Miley is starting to cross some serious cultural boundaries.

Miley wasn’t a topic I was interested in writing about, but this comment from Hayley Williams, Paramore, I thought was really thought provoking:

Screen shot 2013-09-20 at 00.47.07

“I feel like she’s sort of taking a culture that isn’t really hers and sort of using it as an accessory, and that actually bothers me more…. I feel like maybe someone needs to go to her and sort of explain the race issue.”

That’s not to say that there shouldn’t be cultural cross overs in music, or if you enjoy a genre of music that isn’t traditional to your heritage you shouldn’t listen to it of course, but I think Miley is taking things a little too far in a disrespectful way.

Her performance at the VMAs has really ignited the fire that was already kindling, and it just seemed a cry for attention far from the strong, artistic displays of others during the night. I’m not saying I don’t enjoy her music, but the packaging doesn’t quite fit.

The issue is, with an act like that, if it’s sexy, visionary or creative it can be pulled off. But it was none of those things. I love the video for Robin Thicke’s ‘Blurred lines’, though it has also come under harsh criticism, I thought it was hilarious, but this performance was just incredibly uncomfortable.

It’s all too in your face and whilst Britney’s eventual breakdown was a serious and shocking public insight into a girl in need of help Miley, for me, is just in need of a bath (especially following her last video ‘Wrecking Ball’) and a reality check. She thinks its all fun and games, but there are social undertones she seems to be ignoring.

In fairness I haven’t grown up in front of the world, so I can’t imagine what that feels like, and I admire Miley for having strong conviction in herself, but Hayley’s hit the nail on the head in terms of where Miley’s stunts could start to get her into trouble.

Leave a Reply

