Oscars 2014- Predictions

Screen shot 2014-03-02 at 22.15.32

Ahead of the Oscars this evening, I’ve had a go below at what/who I think will scope some of the awards. Here goes:

Best Picture- Correct!

Who I want to win- Her- Incredibly, beautiful film with raw emotion

Who I think will win- 12 Years a Slave- An important film and a big achievement for Steve McQueen

Best Actor- Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Who I want to win- Leonardo Di Caprio- Wolf of Wall Street- PLEASE somebody give this man an Oscar! An incredibly difficult role to adopt and he did it with such flare and sparks of black humour

Who I think will win- Chiwetel Ejiofor- 12 Years a Slave- He is, quite simply, fantastic

Best Actress- Cate Blanchett- Blue Jasmine

Who I want to win- Sandra Bullock- Gravity- A real step up from her Miss Congeniality days

Who I think will win- Meryl Streep- August: Osage County- Normally a safe bet

Best Supporting Actor- Correct!

Who I want to win- Jared Leto- Dallas Buyers Club- This man is a genius

Who I think will win- Jared Leto- Dallas Buyers Club- See above

Best Supporting Actress- Correct!

Who I want to win- Lupita Nyong’o- 12 Years a Slave- She added a whole other level to this film

Who I think will win- Lupita Nyong’o- 12 Years a Slave

Best Animated Feature- Correct!

Who I want to win- Frozen

Who I think will win- It HAS to be Frozen, one of Disney’s bests

Best Original Score- Gravity- 1/2 point

Who I want to win- Her

Who I think will win- Toss up between Her and Gravity

Best Original Song- It was Frozen! So I’m wrong, but happy to be so.

Who I want to win- Let it go- Frozen- It’s Idina Menzel AND Disney

Who I think will win- Happy- Despicable Me 2- It makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside and has been a truly global hit

It’s going to be an interesting year no doubt and I look forward to seeing how the films get on. I’d personally like to see Her and Gravity scope some well deserved recognition, two excellent films amongst a very strong line up this year.

Review: 4.5/8 – Not too bad!

Leave a Reply

