Courgetti – the best thing since sliced bread

photo (34)

Courgette is officially my new favourite vegetable.

This evening, I had a go at making courgetti, a word that I’ve heard mentioned nearly as much as ‘Breaking Bad’ this year so I thought it was time to see what all the fuss was about.

Incredibly easy to make, you literally need to use a julienne peeler to slice the courgette into ribbons. For my dinner, I decided to heat the courgette in a little bit of olive oil in a pan, but you can leave the courgette as it is to eat raw.

Teamed with spinach, broccoli and cajun spiced chicken (ok, I cheated with the last one. Thank you Waitrose) this is an incredibly easy and quick week-night dinner to make that’s lean, mean and green.

Over the weekend, I also experimented with friends making courgette lasagne, and I have to say I really don’t miss the pasta in either of these dishes. It’s lighter and has bags more flavour.

I’ll definitely be on the lookout for more courgette recipes, take a look at some I’ve found from around the foodie web to try next:

http://deliciouslyella.com/recipe/creamy-courgette-spaghetti-gluten-and-dairy-free/

http://thegreeneyedgirl.co.uk/2014/08/30/courgetti-and-simple-pesto/#more-2109

*http://thelittlegreenspoon.com/2014/10/09/sun-dried-tomato-prawn-courgetti/

Leave a Reply

